ChoralArt Camerata Auditions

Auditions are Closed for the 2017-18 Season. Below is a sample of the process. Next year’s auditions TBA

ChoralArt announces auditions for the ChoralArt Camerata, a chamber choir, to be held Wednesday, May 27, 2015, from 5pm to 9pm, at the Allen Avenue Unitarian Universalist Church, 524 Allen Avenue, Portland.

Singers may make a reservation for an audition by contacting the ChoralArt manager, Gail Knowles, at manager@choralart.org.

Those who audition in May for the ChoralArt Camerata will not do a second audition for the Singers group; one is sufficient.

For your audition please prepare to sing

  1. A one-minute song of your choice (or excerpt from a longer song) a cappella.
  2. Your part in Jean Berger’s Harvester’s Song, mm. 1-30. (see “Audition Pieces”, below)
  3. Your part in J.S. Bach’s Jesu Meine Freude, mm.1-34 in the excerpt, which is mm. 210-245 in the full score. (see “Audition Pieces”, below)
  4. A short choral song at sight.

AUDITION PIECES

Harvester’s Song
Jesu Meine Freude

THE CHORALART CAMERATA

ChoralArt Camerata is a chamber chorus (12-16 singers) that sings principally a cappella choral repertory from the Renaissance and Modern eras with occasional forays into ethnic and folk music. The rehearsal schedule is irregular, concentrated at the time of each performance. ChoralArt seeks singers who are self-motivated and willing to learn the music outside of rehearsals and who are able to make a two-year commitment to the Camerata.

Two performances are scheduled: Sunday, January 3, 2017 at 2:30 p.m. and Saturday, May 7, 2017 at 7:30 p.m., both at the Williston-Immanuel United Church.

REHEARSALS: CONCERT #1

Sunday November 8
4-7 p.m.
Sunday November 15
4-7 p.m.
Sunday December 27
4-7 p.m.
Monday December 28
7-10 p.m.
Tuesday December 29
7-10 p.m.
Saturday January 2
10 a.m.-3 p.m

REHEARSALS: CONCERT #2

Sunday February 7
4-7 p.m.
Sunday April 24
4-7 p.m.
Monday April 25
7-10 p.m.
Sunday May 1
4-7 p.m.
Monday May 2
7-10 p.m.
Tuesday May 3
7-10 p.m.
Saturday May 7
10 a.m.-3 p.m.